11 Suggestions for (Social) Networking Heaven – 3

March 23, 2008 at 10:55 am Leave a comment

3) Language filter / Ratings System

I just don’t want to see certain words. I don’t want to be asked to join a group with the F word in it. (And I don’t mean the word “fun” there.) So, if a person or group chooses to list smut or (god forbid) change their group name on me so that it shows in my profile, I won’t have to unsubscribe on it, my settings will do it for me. If someone tries to post a “bad word” on my wall, it will say, “Oops, this page is rated G” and not allow it.

Some of the problems that people have is that things get posted on their page and it could be a lie but its there. And they don’t check their “walls” and notice to delete it. Guilt by association.

Or in the case of my students, they say that they don’t want to make enemies of their friend when they delete it. It shouldn’t be a complete moral discussion when someone posts something that is not acceptable to another. We have different levels of tolerance for those things. We should be able to rate our pages. (Now, wouldn’t this help with filtration 2.0?)

And why couldn’t we set these ratings by connection type? My professional life is rated G, college buddies PG-13, and maybe my discussions with my handsome husband might be rated X? (just kidding, but you get my point.)

Author:

[More to come soon.]

Full article available here.

Entry filed under: ICT, Interaction, Learning, Pedagogy, Social Impact, Trends. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Futurelab Research Discussion Day at RIBA – Learning Spaces Broadcast Learning: The Power of Network Learning

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

The purpose of this blog is to provide insight into the impact of computer games and pop culture, and effective ways of incorporating the positive surplus into learning experiences.

Please feel free to add comments and email me with any queries. I am also interested in relevant project collaboration.

Name: Alexandra Matthews
Location: UK

Email: info@gamingandlearning.co.uk / alex@gamingandlearning.co.uk

Archives

Feeds


